top of page

            Delaware County Housing Authority (DCHA) is a body corporate and politic, organized and existing under the laws of the Commonwealth, having been duly incorporated under the Pennsylvania Housing Authorities Law, the Act of May 28, 1937, Public Law 955 as amended (the “Act”) by the County Council of the County to purchase, acquire, construct, manage and operate low income and elderly housing projects pursuant to the National Housing Act under the auspices of HUD.


            DCHA is governed by a Board of Commissioners as follows: Robert J. Boland, Chairman; Samantha Twinning, Vice Chairman; Chelsea Barrish, Treasurer, Kieyannah Anderson, Vice Treasurer and Elizabeth Derickson; who serve staggered, five-year terms. Appointments to the Board are made by the Delaware County Council at their sole discretion. DCHA was created on January 19, 1938 and has operated without interruption since that time. The present Executive Director is Lawrence E. Hartley, P.H.M.; DCHA employs as staff of approximately 60 individuals at its offices located at 1855 Constitution Avenue, Woodlyn, Pennsylvania as well as three site offices located in Delaware County. 


Delaware County Housing Authority and its component unit own and operate 1,000 plus units of affordable rental housing,and administers 3,000 plus Housing Choice Vouchers  primarily under auspices of the Department of Housing and Urban Development. Delaware County Housing Authority programs operate as follows:


Public Housing Program

Low Income Housing Tax Credit/ACC/Project Based Units

Other units owned and managed

Section 8 New Construction Units

Housing Choice Voucher Program (Formerly the Section 8 Program)

bottom of page